• 29 FEB 16
    • 2
    ABC of Yoga #3

    ABC of Yoga #3

    C is for Cakra/Chakra.

    In Sanskrit the word Cakra means wheel or circle.

    The Chakras denote energy points in the body and are meeting points (along the spine) where this  ‘subtle’ energy meets along the points of the main Nadis (Sushumna)

    The Nadis are energy channels or pathways through which subtle energy (prana) flows. We consider the right nostril and the left nostril as one of the entry points for prana to flow.

    In the Pranamayakosha or the energy body, there are 72,000 nadis. The 72,000 nadis spring from three basic nadis – the left, the right and the central – the Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna.

    Although the Chakra system is often misunderstood in the west, in the eastern cultures the flow of prana along the Nadis and the clearing of the chakras is highly regarded as a therapeutic method to maximise health and wellbeing and allows each individual the opportunity to find balance.

    This is a huge area worth further investigation .

    Visit this link for more.




    C is for the asana : Chakrasana

    Which as you may have guessed is the ‘Wheel’ pose.

    This asana is a back bend and an advanced posture.  As such it can be quite strong for those with problematic spines and shoulders, so always practice with caution.


    Leave a reply →
  • Posted by Jhoei on September 17, 2019, 5:26 pm

    Thank you for sharing this. It is very informative.

    Reply →
  • Posted by fitoru on November 27, 2019, 6:34 pm

    thanks for your valuable blog. I learned something new today 🙂

    Reply →

Leave a reply

Cancel reply

Subscribe to our blogs

* indicates required